Book Haul | June 2017

I bought some books, didn’t I!

Amazon have this 3 books for £10 deal and I always get sucked in. Here is a quick haul of what I picked up:

20170623_113000.jpg

Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone (or Sourcer’s Stone, depending on where you are) in the 20th Anniversary editions. These are what sparked the haul. When I saw that they were bringing out these beautiful Hogwart’s houses editions I knew I had to get them. I wanted all four but couldn’t justify it so just picked up Hufflepuff which is my house and Ravenclaw which is Kerry’s house. I knew she would have loved these and I couldn’t resist picking one up for her.

20170623_110316

Playing With Fire by Tess Gerritson.
A beautiful violinist is haunted by a very old piece of music she finds in a strange antique shop in Rome.

The first time Julia Ansdell picks up The Incendio Waltz, she knows it’s a strikingly unusual composition. But while playing the piece, Julia blacks out and awakens to find her young daughter implicated in acts of surprising violence. And when she travels to Venice to find the previous owner of the music, she uncovers a dark secret that involves dangerously powerful people—a family who would stop at nothing to keep Julia from bringing the truth to light.”

I have heard wonderful things about this book and I’m on a bit of a mystery/ thriller kick at the moment so am looking forward to getting round to this one.

20170623_110256

A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas. The second and third in the ACOTAR series. I am not going to provide a summary in case, like me, you have not read A Court of Thorns and Roses. This series has been so hyped up in the book community that I’m slightly ashamed that I am yet to pick them up. I usually love a good fantasy read in the summer, so hopefully I’ll be able to get round to starting such a well loved series.

20170623_113043

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer byRick Riordan. This is the first in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series.

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.”

Again, I’m embarrassed to say that I have not read anything by Rick Riordan, not even the Percy Jackson series *slaps wrist*. I have heard some great things about his writing so when I saw it in this deal I knew I had to get it. I know very little about Norse mythology so am looking forward to broadening my knowledge. Hopefully the story is as beautiful as the cover.

 

And that my friends, completes this little book haul. Thank you so much for reading.

Love always, Stacey x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Haul | June 2017

Leave a Reply

